Our sister organizations

The historic Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery site is home to three sister-institutions created by the Augustinian Sisters: Le Monastère des Augustines, the Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin and La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines. The sisters continue to live in the building’s Saint-Augustin wing.

The Augustinian sisters

The Augustinian Sisters of the Mercy of Jesus have been devoted to caring for body and soul since 1639. In so doing, they laid the foundation of the province’s healthcare system.

The sisters actively contributed to healthcare as the owners and managers of hospitals, and as nurses and pharmacists. As such, they also contributed to the economic development of the regions where they worked.

Confronted with their community’s decline in numbers, the Augustinian Sisters made the choice to hand on their valuable heritage to the public. For this reason, they created a social trust to which they transferred ownership of their founding monastery, as well as the collections and archives of their 12 monastery hospitals.

It is through this generous legacy that Le Monastère des Augustines has come to life.

For more information on the Augustinian sisters, visit augustines.ca/en

La Fiducie du patrimoine
culturel des Augustines

The mission of La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines is to preserve and share the heritage and memory of the Augustinian Sisters of Quebec for the benefit of the entire population and for generations to come.

Created on October 1, 2009, by the Fédération des monastères des Augustines, this social trust has charitable status, protects the Augustinian Sisters’ intentions and makes the public the principal beneficiary of their legacy.

The Fiducie owns the buildings and grounds and contributes financially to the operations of the two other sister NPO’s: Le Monastère des Augustines and the Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin. In collaboration with these two organizations, the Fiducie also sets the principle directions.

In keeping with the Augustinian Sisters’ hospital mission, the Fiducie supports a respite program that offers caregivers and persons accompanying hospital patients the opportunity to stay at Le Monastère des Augustines for minimal cost.

For more information on the Fiducie, visit augustines.ca/en

The Centre Catherine-
de-Saint-Augustin

The Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin is a place of spirituality, commemoration and pilgrimage dedicated to this Augustinian Sister from the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec monastery, who was beatified by Pope John Paul II in 1989.

The Centre, which first opened in 1985 and still operates under the sisters’ responsibility, is located in the church.

For more information on the Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin, visit centrecatherine.ca

Nos organisations parentes

Le site historique du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec regroupe trois institutions parentes créées par les Augustines, soit le Monastère des Augustines, le Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin et la Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines. De plus, les religieuses continuent d’habiter l’aile Saint-Augustin.

Les Augustines

Depuis 1639, les Augustines de la Miséricorde de Jésus se sont dévouées au soin des corps et des âmes, construisant les bases du système de santé actuel au Québec.

Elles y ont contribué activement, en tant que propriétaires et gestionnaires d’hôpitaux, infirmières et pharmaciennes, participant ainsi à l’essor économique des régions où elles ont œuvré.

Confrontées au déclin de leur communauté, les Augustines ont fait le choix de transmettre leur précieux héritage à la population. C’est pourquoi elles ont créé une fiducie d’utilité sociale à qui elles cèdent leur monastère fondateur ainsi que les collections et archives de leurs 12 monastères-hôpitaux.

C’est grâce à ce legs important que le projet du Monastère des Augustines a vu le jour.

Pour plus d’information sur les augustines, visitez augustines.ca

La Fiducie du patrimoine
culturel des Augustines

La Fiducie du patrimoine culturel des Augustines a pour mission d'assurer, pour toute la population et pour les générations à venir, la sauvegarde et la mise en valeur du patrimoine et de la mémoire des Augustines du Québec.

Créée le 1er octobre 2009 par la Fédération des monastères des Augustines, cette fiducie d’utilité sociale jouit d’un statut d’organisme de bienfaisance. L’acte qui la constitue protège les intentions des Augustines et fait de la population la principale bénéficiaire de leur legs.

La Fiducie est propriétaire des lieux et apporte sa contribution au financement des opérations des deux OSBL, soit le Monastère des Augustines et le Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin. Elle décide des grandes orientations en collaboration avec ces deux organismes.

Dans la continuité de la mission hospitalière des Augustines, la Fiducie soutient un programme de répit pour les proches aidants et les accompagnateurs de personnes hospitalisées. Grâce à ce soutien, le Monastère des Augustines peut offrir à ces personnes de séjourner au monastère à faible coût.

Pour plus d’information sur la Fiducie, visitez augustines.ca

Le Centre Catherine-
de-Saint-Augustin

Le Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin est un lieu de spiritualité, de commémoration et de pèlerinage dédié à cette augustine du monastère de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec béatifiée par le pape Jean Paul II en 1989.

Ouvert depuis 1985 et toujours sous la responsabilité des religieuses, le Centre est situé dans l’église du Monastère.

Pour plus d’information sur le Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin, visitez centrecatherine.ca